Schools axed by Government

Published:  06 July, 2010

UK: The Government has announced that it is axing a flagship £55bn schools rebuilding scheme. Most applications are in London and the South East.

In total, schemes to rebuild or renovate 715 secondaries were scrapped, while projects at a further 706 schools that have reached "financial close" – where work is ready to begin – will still go ahead. A further 123 schemes to build academies will be reviewed on a "case-by-case basis".

In some cases, rebuilding plans that have taken years to develop have been axed, potentially forcing councils to to spend huge sums patching up crumbling buildings.

Education Secretary Michael Gove said the cancellations were "unavoidable because of the financial mess left by Labour and because the Building Schools for the Future (BSF) scheme had been badly botched".

Mr Gove announced a review of capital investment in schools – to "cut red tape" – to determine the way forward, but with no hint of funding available in the future.

The announcement triggered angry scenes in the Commons, where Ed Balls, Labour's education spokesman, branded it "shameful".

Some Labour MPs claimed it had condemned children to a return to the bad old days of "peeling walls, leaking roofs and children taught in prefabs".

They accused the Conservatives of freeing cash for new so-called free schools, sponsored by parents and teachers.

Mr Gove said the bureaucracy in the BSF process meant only 96 of England's 3500 secondary schools had been replaced in 13 years of Labour.

Details released by the Department for Education on the building work affected include:


Branksome Comprehensive

Carmel RC College

Education village

Hummersknott School

Hurworth School

Longfield School

The Bridge PRU


Academy - for discussion:

Consett Academy

Stanley Academy


Durham City Academy (Belmont)

Broom Cottages PRU

Ferryhill Business and Enterprise College


Greenfield Community Arts College

New School (replace Bishop Barrington & King James)

New School (replace Spennymoor & Tudhoe) Seaham

St John's RCVA Comprehensive


The Meadows

The Oaks Secondary (ICT only)


Windlestone (ICT only)

Woodham Community Technology Centre


Brierton - (Proposed for closure)

Catcote Special School

High Tunstall College of Science

Manor College of Technology

PRU - Hartlepool

English Martyrs School And Sixth Form College

For discussion:

Dyke House Sports And Technology College

St. Hilds CE VA School


Academy - for discussion

Freebrough Academy - Stopped

Bydales School - A Specialist Technology College


Eston Park School - (Proposed for closure)

Gillbrook College - (Proposed for closure)


Kilton Thorpe School

Kirkleatham Hall School

Laurence Jackson School

New School Eston (Proposed)

Nunthorpe School


Redcar Community College

Rye Hills

Sacred Heart RC VA School

St. Peter's Catholic College - (proposed for closure)


Academy - for discussion

North Shore Health Academy

Thornaby Academy


Abbey Hill SEN

All Saints CE

Billingham Campus - (proposed for closure)


Bishopton Centre PRU

Blakeston - (proposed for closure)




Ian Ramsey CE

King Edwin - (proposed for closure)


Norton - (proposed for closure)

Our Lady And St Bede's CE

St Michael's RC VA Comprehensive

St Patrick's RC Comprehensive

Westlands SEN

SUNDERLAND (stopped)

Barbara Priestman

Castlegreen Community School

Farringdon Community Sports College


Houghton Kepier Sports College


Portland Specialist School

PRU - Sunderland

Southmoor Community School

Springwell Dene

St. Anthony's Catholic Girls' School

St. Aidan's Catholic School

Thornhill - Sunderland

Venerable Bede CE (Aided) Secondary

Sign Up

For the Builders' Merchants News enewsletter.

In the spotlight

We have vacancies all over the UK for those who work within the Building Supplies sector.